Polk County Criminal Defense Attorney
Polk County Criminal Defense Lawyer Attorney Profiles Criminal Defense Case Evaluation Contact
A criminal conviction can impact your life forever. Educate yourself on the criminal process today. We've been on both sides of the fight. Now we're on yours. Learn more about the benefits of hiring a law firm with prosecution knowledge. Read why having a knowledgeable criminal attorney on your side, can put everything into perspective.
1102 South Florida Ave. Lakeland, FL 33803

Under 21 DUI

Polk County DUI Defense Attorney

Florida Statutes Section 322.2616 says that police officers can detail vehicles driven by individuals believed to be under the age of 21 who seem intoxicated. Florida follows a "No Tolerance" policy when it comes to minors, which means that even if you are under the legal BAC limit of 0.08% you could be charged with driving while intoxicated. In other words, even if your BAC level was as low as 0.02 you could be convicted of drunk driving. It takes less than an entire drink for someone's blood alcohol content to reach two percent.

Penalties You Could Face

For a first time conviction of underage DUI, you can expect a driver's license suspension of six months. If you refused a breathalyzer test, even if it is your first conviction, your license will be suspended for a year. You will also have to pay a fine ranging between $250 and $500. You could be imprisoned for up to six months, unless you had a BAC of .08 percent or higher or had a minor in your vehicle in which case you could be imprisoned for nine months. You will also be put on probation for a year and have to complete 50 hours of community service.

For a second conviction, your license could be suspended for up to a year. If you refused a breathalyzer test and it is your second or subsequent conviction, your license will be suspended for 18 months.

If your BAC level was .05 or higher, your license will remain suspended until you have completed a substance abuse evaluation and course. Taking "Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education Course" is mandatory before receiving your license back; a minimum of 12 hours of education is required.

After you are arrested for underage DUI, you will receive a temporary driving permit which is valid for 10 days after the arrest. During this window of time, it is critical that you request a hearing with the DMV to challenge your license suspension and fight for your driving privileges.

Besides receiving a criminal charge on your record, having your license suspended, having to pay fines, take a substance abuse court and spend time in jail, you will face an increased insurance premium as well. An underage DUI conviction can inconvenience you and haunt you for years to come, so it is imperative that you secure the aggressive legal services of a Polk County DUI defense attorney today!

A qualified DUI defense attorney at Ayo & Iken, PLC will not only represent you in court, but will help you fight for your driving privileges in an administrative hearing as well. Let us put our more than 35 years of combined legal experience to work for you today; contact our firm at (863) 949-0388 to schedule your free consultation!

Learn more info by reading our law blog.

Polk County Criminal Defense Attorney | Criminal Defense | Contact Us | Site Map | Privacy Policy

Attorney Web Design

The information on this website is for general information purposes only. Nothing on this site should be taken as legal advice for any individual case or situation. This information is not intended to create, and receipt or viewing does not constitute, an attorney-client relationship.